Skip to main content

Johnson County Community College full-time faculty may join the Faculty Association, which represents the interests of faculty in negotiating salaries and benefits with the college administration and the Board of Trustees. The FA also represents the faculty in other capacities, such as providing political advocacy at the local, state and national levels.

The Johnson County Community College Faculty Association is a member of the Kansas NEA and NEA. It was chartered in 1979 and has represented the individual and collective interests of its members for over 30 years. JCCCFA/KNEA/NEA is also the exclusive bargaining agent under the Kansas Professional Negotiations Act

Membership in the FA/KNEA provides members with a number of benefits, including a $1,000,000 insurance coverage for attorney assistance with liability-related issues.

Officers of the JCCCFA are elected annually.

For 2018-2019, the officers are:

Melanie Harvey, President
Professor of Chemistry
RC 372C, Box 19, ext. 3390

James Leiker, Vice President
Professor of History
OCB 342D, Box 49, ext. 3673

Terri Easley-Giraldo, Secretary
Professor of Communication Studies
CC 315E, Box 31, ext. 4587

Eve Blobaum, Treasurer
Professor of Sociology
GEB 151F, Box 36, ext. 4965

Brian Wright, UniServ Representative
Professor of Political Science
GEB 257D, Box 36, ext. 4266

Dennis Arjo, Past President
Professor of Philosophy and Religion
GEB 151A, Box 36, ext. 3486

The FA office is in GEB 237.

For more information, visit the JCCC Faculty Association blog.

Faculty Association Blog