Skip to main content

May 9, 2022

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Johnson County Community College (JCCC) awarded 22 local students with prestigious First Year President’s Scholarships, which provide a tuition-free opportunity to attend JCCC in the fall semester.

To be considered for President’s Scholarships, students must be attending a Johnson County high school and have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Incoming Johnson County home-schooled students and GED graduates with a 3.5 GPA or higher are also considered.

This year, JCCC awarded the President’s Scholarship to:

Cameron Matthew Baker
Blue Valley Northwest

Ryan Mitchell Barber
De Soto High School

Gavin Jeffrey Barton
Mill Valley High School

Rylee Briann Best
St. Thomas Aquinas

Christopher Jaeyoon Chi
Olathe Northwest

Grant R. Elsas
Shawnee Mission North

Joseph Thomas Farrar
Bishop Miege

Joseph Goodman
Maranatha Academy

Anna Rose Haugh
Olathe West

Samuel T. Holguin
Shawnee Mission Northwest

Olivia H. Keller
Blue Valley North

Sarah Grace Keller
Shawnee Mission South

Lynn Minmei Maltsbarger
Olathe North

Kevin McKinzie
St. James Academy

Savana Mongkhonvilay
Olathe South

Emily Ortega-Mosqueda
Shawnee Mission West

Gillian Maddox Pirkey
Spring Hill

Lucy June Salzman

Sabrina Sanchez
Olathe East

Tia Lynn Sherwood

Christina R. Stone
Blue Valley High School

Mandy Swafford
Blue Valley Southwest

Once awarded, the recipients are required to enroll in 12 or more credit hours at JCCC each semester to maintain their scholarship. President’s Scholarships can be renewed for a second year if students enroll full-time and earn a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

“It is truly an honor to provide this opportunity to the top students in our community. This scholarship is one way we applaud the hard work they’ve put into their academic achievements. We’re thrilled to support them and can’t wait to see the success they will have at JCCC!” said Ashley Jost, Coordinator of Financial Aid.

When it comes to making college accessible and affordable, JCCC offers students a quality education without asking them to compromise their financial security. That’s why millions of dollars in scholarships, including this one, are awarded every year to qualified students. Find out more at