Skip to main content

April 1, 2021

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Johnson County Community College recently awarded Kansas All-State Academic Team scholarships, each worth $300, to these Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) members:

  • Kristen Wright – Business Administration major
  • Ashley “Kat” Hooley-Lickteig – Political Science major
  • Jacquelyn “Jacqui” White – Biology major

Jacqui White was also selected for PTK’s All-USA Academic Team, an honor bestowed to only 20 students from a pool of more than 2,000 candidates nationwide.

Through All-State Academic Teams, community college students compete for recognition, spots on the national team and scholarships.

Scholarship recipients first completed a PTK scholarship application and marked which scholarships interested them. JCCC’s designated nominator, Anne Dotter, Director, Honors Program, then nominated three students for the Kansas All-State Team.

To be eligible, students must be currently enrolled in an associate degree or certificate program, display community and campus involvement, and write an essay.

The Kansas All-State Academic Team recognizes Kansas’s two-year college scholars by acknowledging their academic achievement, leadership and service. The top two to four students from all participating institutions in Kansas make up the All-State Team. The winners from around the state go on to compete for a spot on the All-USA Academic team, which honors outstanding students from a variety of backgrounds and disciplines. 

To learn more about the College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, visit our Honors Program webpage.