Skip to main content

You Helping You


A student does ab exercises as part of her workout routine

Jobs, social life and college — add in exams, reading, writing and special projects, and when do you find time to take care of you? Say it out loud: "TODAY, I will take care of me." JCCC is helping you stay healthy and happy with new student wellness programs.

Note: All programs are offered free of charge to JCCC students; participation does require a valid JCCC student ID.

Barbara Gill Lifetime Fitness Center

Starting with: FREE access to JCCC’s fitness center.

JCCC’s Lifetime Fitness Center is open seven days a week and is located on the second floor of the GYM. It includes multiple cardio machines, weight machines, total body weight training and a specialized 20-minute total body circuit training system.


Group Fitness Classes

 Enjoy FREE fitness classes focused on fun group fitness activities.


Wellness Programs

The Healthiest Club on Campus Challenge (PDF): Join in and find out which JCCC campus club is healthiest! Clubs earn points for wellness activities. Each quarter, the club with the most wellness points wins.

Nell Mitchell Wellness Series

Better Balance Training
by Deborah Bowers
Feb. 26, Wednesday, 1 p.m. GYM 007
Feb. 28, Friday, 8:30 a.m. GYM 007

Are You Living With Diabetes?
Family, Friends, or Yourself
by Ruth Dey & Guest Speaker Natasha Belcher-Hess
March 4, Wednesday, 12 p.m. CC 212
March 5, Thursday, 5:15 p.m. GEB 233

Stress Relief
by Tina Pulley
March 10, Tuesday, 11 a.m. GYM 007
March 12, Thursday, 3 p.m. GYM 021

Healthy Mind, Healthy Body
by Tina Pulley
March 24, Tuesday, 11 a.m. GYM 007
March 26, Thursday, 3 p.m. GYM 021

Freedom From Foot Pain
by Deborah Bowers
March 24, Tuesday, 5 p.m. GYM 021
March 25, Wednesday, 1:15 p.m. GYM 007

Foam Rollers: Massage/Prep/Stretch
by Deborah Bowers
March 31, Tuesday, 1:15 p.m. GEB 233
April 1, Wednesday, 1:15 p.m. GYM 007

Strategies: Stop Putting Things Off
by Ruth Dey
April 6, Monday, 2:30 p.m. GEB 233
April 7, Tuesday, 9 a.m. GEB 233

Fuel Your Body
by Tina Pulley
April 7, Tuesday, 11 a.m. GYM 007
April 9, Thursday, 3 p.m. GYM 021

Knock Out Knee Pain
by Deborah Bowers
April 21, Tuesday, 5 p.m. GYM 021
April 22, Wednesday, 1:15 p.m. GYM 007

Walk For Health
by Tina Pulley
April 23, Thursday, 3 p.m. GYM 021
April 28, Tuesday, 11 a.m. GYM 007

JCCC Wellness Fair
April 29, Wednesday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m. GYM 003
Drawings, Giveaways, Screenings, Chair Massage & More!

  • Nutrition Lecture, noon: Discover the Healing Powers of Spices
    By Claudia Martin-Ayoade

Health = Resilience ÷ Stress
by Ruth Dey
May 4, Monday, 2:30 p.m. GEB 233
May 6, Tuesday, 9 a.m. GEB 233

The Power of Relaxation
by Ruth Dey
May 11, Monday, 2:30 p.m. GEB 233
May 12, Tuesday, 11:30 a.m. GEB 233


Assessments, Personal Training and Wellness Coaching

Send us an email to schedule a 15-minute introductory session.


Amenities

Locker Rooms GYM 006 Men/ GYM 037 Women
There are one women's and one men's public locker room for students, staff and faculty use. The locker rooms include showers and restrooms as well as lockers.

Lockers
The tall lockers in each locker room (located next to four cubicle lockers) are for hourly use only. Bring your own lock and lock up your stuff during your class or activity, then empty the locker and remove your lock until the next time you need a locker. Leave the tall locker empty and ready for the next user.

All individuals are responsible for providing their own locks, and any locks left on the tall lockers will be removed daily.

Towel Service
Clean towels are available in the fitness center for use during your workout.


Vision and Purpose

JCCC’s Student Wellness vision is to promote health and wellness by building a cohesive campus community for students by furthering their academic success through healthy lifestyle engagement.

For more information or if you have questions, please email Student Wellness.