Johnson County Community College

Sustainable Campus Annual Award

The Sustainable JCCC Annual Award is given in recognition of exemplary actions by an individual or team of JCCC employees to create a more sustainable campus.

This award is designed to reward efforts above and beyond the basic requirements of the E3 Office Program or basic job responsibilities. Preference is given to projects with greatest impact, but all scales of projects are considered.


Team Award:
Information Services - Barbara Larson, Tom Pagano, Matthew Holmes, Del Lovitt, Mary O'Sullivan, Shannon Ford, Laura Radke and Sandra Warner
Individual Award:
Jason Arnett, supervisor, coffee bar operations

Team Award - Warehouse staff, for their efforts with college surplus resale and recycling
Individual Award - Faye Martin, custodial supervisor, who created a recycling organization project.

Team Award - Theatre department, with special recognition to Beate Pettigrew, associate professor of theatre, and PJ Barnett, for their work with the ROSE Store and a wood recycling project.
Team Award - Claudia Martin-Ayoade, registered dietitian, for sustainable health and nutrition programs and practices.

2014 - No awards given

Team Award - Academic Support Services, for their work in procuring Macintosh computers that led to energy reduction.
Team Award - Nancy Wandell, reading faculty, for her efforts in a Sustainability Scavenger Hunt.

How to apply

Part-time and full-time JCCC faculty and staff are eligible to apply for or be nominated for the award. Awards are given for both individual and team effort, with nominations emailed to the Center for Sustainability by 5 p.m. March 23.

Download the instructions and application for the Annual Sustainability Award.

Email The Center for Sustainability or call us at 913-469-8500, ext. 7654, for additional information.