Bridget Kibbey and the Dover Quartet.

Bridget Kibbey, Harp, with the Dover Quartet
Celebrating Bach

8 p.m. Saturday, December 5, 2020 | Polsky Theatre

Save up to 20% when you subscribe! | Single ticket sales start Monday, August 3.

5+ Event Season Package 8+ Event Season Package

7 p.m. Pre-show talk

Surprising audiences with diverse and energetic programming, Kibbey spans Baroque, French Masterworks and rhythmic migration in South America. With the Dover Quartet, it’s a celebration of pure musical brilliance and charisma in an all-Bach program.

On this tour, Bridget Kibbey and the Dover Quartet feature some of the best-beloved works of J.S. Bach, including Toccata and Fugue in D minor, which Kibbey adapted for harp. Called the "Yo-Yo Ma of the harp" by Vogue’s senior editor, Kibbey has won a prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, Salon de Virtuosi SONY Recording Grant, and Premiere Prix at the Journées de les Harpes competition in Arles, France, and performs with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. She has quickly gained a reputation for diverse and energetic programming that spans Baroque, French Masterworks and rhythmic migration in South America.

Kibbey’s debut album, “Love Is Come Again,” was named one of the Top Ten Releases by Time Out New York. Most recently, Kibbey was named “Best in Studio 2018” by New York’s WQXR for her live performance of her adaptation of J.S. Bach's Toccata and Fugue.

The Dover Quartet catapulted to international stardom following a stunning sweep of the 2013 Banff Competition, at which they won every prize. Named the Cleveland Quartet Award winner and honored with the coveted Avery Fisher Career grant, they have become one of the most in-demand ensembles in the world. With two albums released to much acclaim, they were recently named the first quartet-in-residence for the Kennedy Center. 

“The works of J.S. Bach exhibit that grand paradox I love so much: symmetry and form meeting the purest beauty of a simple line. Every phrase asks the artist to sing in a way that transcends the instrument, while respecting the grand architecture of the composition.” — Bridget Kibbey


Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565 (trans. Kibbey)  Johann Sebastian Bach  (1685-1750)
Sonata in E-flat major, BWV 1031
  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Siciliano
  3. Allegro
Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 (trans. Daniel Lee) 
  1. Aria
  2. Variation 1
  3. Variation 2
  4. Variation 7
  5. Variation 26
Harpsichord Concerto in F minor, BWV 1056
  1. Largo
  2. Presto     
Sonata in G minor for Violin and Clavier, BWV 1020
  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro
Art of the Fugue, BWV 1080
  1. Contrapuncti I-IV
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
  1. Adagio
  2. Allegro