Johnson County Community College
Press Release

College Information and Publications
Tyler Cundith, sports information director, ext. 3122

Bates, Herrenbruck selected JCCC female and male athletes of the year


Bates, Herrenbruck selected JCCC female and male athletes of the year

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Johnson County Community College sophomores Sammi Bates of the softball team and freshman Ty Herrenbruck of the baseball team were announced as the 2017-18 female and male JCCC Athletes of the Year at the annual Athletics Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 2. In addition, sophomore Shay Tolbert of the volleyball team and sophomore Colton VanVleck of the men’s soccer team, were the top female and male Academic Athletes of the Year.

Bates is having an amazing season and she is literally tearing the cover off the ball. She is batting .553, which ranks her fifth in the nation and first in the conference. Her average is 36 points higher the second-best hitter in the conference. Bates has collected at least one hit in 38 of JCCC’s 40 games played, and earlier this season she had a hitting streak that spanned 26 straight games, which tied for fourth longest in team history.

In addition, her batting average, Bates leads the team in hits (68), runs (57), doubles (13), triples (3), and stolen bases (23).

After missing last season with an injury, Herrenbruck returned to the line-up this season and has put together a monster campaign, as he leads the team in virtually every offensive category. He is batting .413 with 81 hits, including 15 doubles, six triples, 13 home runs and 67 runs driven. His 81 hits rank sixth in the country, and his 147 total bases rank eighth nationally. 

Earlier this season, Herrenbruck became just the sixth player in team history to top the century mark for career hits, runs scored and runs driven in. When his career comes to an end at Johnson County, his name will appear among the all-time leaders for a season and career in 20 separate offensive categories. He is also closing in on setting new records for season hits, season multiple-hit games and career multiple-hit games.

The following are the 2017-18 award winners for each JCCC athletic team:







Ty Herrenbruck

Brian Sullivan

Colton VanVleck

Women’s Basketball

Tristen McFeders               

Kylee Williams

Ida Pieschel

Men’s Basketball

Anthony Lupardus

Meli McKinney

Anthony Lupardus

Women’s Cross Country

Yulissa DelaTorre

Emma Stimatze

Yulissa DelaTorre

Men’s Cross Country

Kyle McRoberts

Brendan McRoberts

Kyle McRoberts

Women’s Soccer

Manuela Gonzalez

Chloe Harrington

Paige Downey

Men’s Soccer

Sung Min Cho

Chance Beckham

Preston Mboob


Sammi Bates

Madison Wegner

Shay Tolbert

Women’s Track

Dayan Morales

Jessalyn Rivet-Tissot

Kaitlyn Henderson

Men’s Track

Duncan Gakuru

Sam Hengeli

Cole Young


Megan Tauke

Destani Garten

Kayla Dailey


Jimeara Brock

Lindsay Albrechtsen

Breanne Smith

Athletic Training

Walter Beeson

Louie Dill

Walter Beeson



For schedules, rosters, and other team information, go to