Johnson County Community College
Press Release

College Information and Publications
Julie Haas, associate vice president, marketing communications, ext. 3120
Diane Carroll, writer/editor/media relations, ext. 3425
Tyler Cundith, sports information director, ext. 3122

JCCC Model UN team receives top award at National Model United Nations Conference


JCCC Model UN team receives top award at National Model United Nations Conference

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. — The Johnson County Community College (JCCC) Model United Nations team received an Outstanding Delegation Award for its portrayal of Niger April 13 to 17 at the National Model United Nations Conference (NMUN) in New York City.

JCCC was evaluated using the following criteria: remaining in character (advocating for the assigned country’s position in a manner consistent with economic, social and geopolitical constraints); participating in committee (during both formal and informal sessions); and the proper use of the rules of procedure.

Three JCCC students were chosen by the conference to be rapporteurs (who assist with the organization of their conference committee).

Aaron Hafey, Overland Park, served on the General Assembly First Committee: Disarmament. Kaitlyn Sylva, Gardner, Kan., served on the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, and Gaelyn McGhee, Overland Park, served the General Assembly Third Committee.

“The NMUN conference was an unforgettable experience because of meeting students from across the USA and from 60 different countries. I am proud to be a part of such a successful team,” McGhee said.

Model United Nations allows students to understand the international issues at the United Nations while building skills in public speaking and diplomacy. More than 3,000 students participated in the conference by proposing resolutions and writing reports dealing with world issues.

In addition to the above, the JCCC team’s success is attributed to: Joe Gideon, Independence, Mo.; Ben Brown, Overland Park; Nathaley Cifaentes Riano, Bogota, Colombia/Merriam; Linda Makau, Overland Park; Danielle Allison, Overland Park; Aaron Swift, Olathe; Elysia Chao, Overland Park; Jeffery Redmond, Olathe; Donald Roth, Prairie Village; Katlyn Pratt, Baldwin, Kan.; Ammar Essa, Lenexa; Joe Beeso,  Gardner, Kan.; Elizabeth Andrews, Tonganoxie, Kan.; Marie-Kristin Horvat, Lingen, Germany/Lenexa; Ian Sneid, Leawood, Kan.; and Bennett Hofer, Olathe.

Dr. Brian Wright, professor of political science, is the team’s advisor.

“It is a very impressive achievement for JCCC students,” Wright said. “The National Model United Nations conference in New York City is the world's largest and most prestigious Model United Nations conference. Participants include major universities from throughout the world, each of which sets the main focus of their program on award recognition at New York. Receiving this award is an exceptional experience for our students that will stay with them throughout their lives.”

This NMUN award caps 10 years of success for JCCC, during which the team has received awards at the last 30 consecutive conferences they have attended.