Johnson County Community College
Press Release

College Information and Publications
Julie Haas, associate vice president, marketing communications, ext. 3120
Diane Carroll, writer/editor/media relations, ext. 3425
Tyler Cundith, sports information director, ext. 3122

Two JCCC students named to All-Kansas Academic Team


Two JCCC students named to All-Kansas Academic Team

Marcela deCarvalho
Marcela deCarvalho
Amy Reinhardt
Amy Reinhardt

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. — Fifty-two top community college scholars from the state of Kansas, including two from Johnson County Community College, will be honored Feb. 13 in Topeka. The group is being recognized for their academic accomplishments.

Representing JCCC are Marcela deCarvalho, 24, Gardner, and Amy Reinhardt, 20, Overland Park.

deCarvalho, who is originally from Brazil, plans to transfer eventually to Ottawa University and major in liberal arts. She is vice president of scholarship for the college’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, president of the International Club, an Intervarsity Christian Fellowship Student Leader, a member of the Invisible Children Club, secretary of the Outdoors Club and an Admissions student ambassador. She has received the JCCC I-20 Academic Excellence and Service Award.

Reinhardt plans to major in liberal arts, although she is undecided as to which university she will transfer. She is vice president for membership for the college’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an honors program officer, a volunteer for the Transitional Living Center and Harvesters, and a co-discussion leader for her church’s youth group.

The scholars are members of the 2014 All-Kansas Academic Team, sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents. Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus.

The students will be recognized in Topeka at an awards ceremony that draws educators and legislators each year.

Students are selected by their own community college for the statewide academic team. Each is also a nominee for the 2014 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.