Johnson County Community College
Press Release

College Information and Publications
Julie Haas, associate vice president, marketing communications, ext. 3120
Diane Carroll, writer/editor/media relations, ext. 3425
Tyler Cundith, sports information director, ext. 3122

BBC Orchestra


BBC Orchestra

BBC Orchestra brings flexible style to Yardley Hall 

BBC Orchestra
BBC Orchestra

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – The BBC Concert Orchestra, one of the most versatile orchestras in the world, will appear at 8 p.m. Friday, Feb. 8, in the Carlsen Center's Yardley Hall as part of the Performing Arts Series at Johnson County Community College.

A pre-show talk will take place at 7 p.m. and be delivered by William Everett, associate professor of musicology and associate dean for graduate studies and curriculum at the University of Missouri in Kansas City.

Tickets, which are $52 and $42, are available through the college box office at 913-469-4445 or online at

The British orchestra is led by Maestro Keith Lockhart, who became principal conductor in August 2010. Lockhart also continues his work as conductor for the Boston Pops, which he has done since 1995.

Sophie Shao
Sophie Shao

Cellist Sophie Shao is the soloist. The New York Times has applauded her "eloquent, powerful" interpretations of repertoire ranging from Bach and Beethoven to Crumb.

The orchestra's bywords are versatility and flexibility. Its standard 56-strong membership can expand or contract according to what is on the program. Bring in a saxophone section and it's an upfront big band, perfect for accompanying top-drawer West End artists for Radio 2. Increase the strings and they are ready to play Elgar's Violin Concerto with Nigel Kennedy at the Proms.

The BBC Concert Orchestra was formed in 1952. From its humble beginnings as a radio orchestra, it has developed an enviable reputation in the fields of light music, opera, ballet and musicals. Its performances can be heard not only in concert halls but also on radio and television.

The program: Britten's Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, Op. 33a; Elgar's Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85 Sophie Shao, cello; Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56 (Scottish).