Johnson County Community College
Press Release

College Information and Publications
Julie Haas, associate vice president, marketing communications, ext. 3120
Diane Carroll, writer/editor/media relations, ext. 3425
Tyler Cundith, sports information director, ext. 3122

Baseball – Cavaliers moving on


Baseball – Cavaliers moving on

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – The Johnson County Community College baseball program has a long, running tradition of players continuing their academic and athletic careers at four-year institutions. The 2013 sophomore class produced 14 players that will be suiting up at four-year colleges and universities during the 2013-14 season.  

Five Cavaliers have signed with NCAA Division I universities, seven are going to NCAA D-II universities, including five to top 12 nationally ranked programs and two are attending NAIA program. 

“We pride ourselves on being on one of the hardest working programs in the country, on and off the field, and it really shows with the quality programs our student-athletes move on to,” said JCCC head coach Kent Shelley. 

This class produced a conference championship in 2012, and finished both years as a top seven academic team in the country, ranking seventh in 2012, and third in 2013. The third place finish is the highest in team history. 

The following are the sophomore moving on the school they are attending this year: 

Tyler Arthur – C – Drury University (NCAA D-II, No. 12)
Matt Blackham – P – Middle Tennessee State University (NCAA D-I)
Juan Bowers – 1B – University of Wisconsin Parkside (NCAA D-II)
Robert Calvano – P – University of Nebraska-Omaha (NCAA D-I)
Darius Hampton – SS – Jackson State University (NCAA D-I)
Nick Kolarik – P – Indiana State University (NCAA D-I)
Gage Jacobs – P – Drury University (NCAA D-II, No. 12)
Ross Johnson – OF/P – University of Northern Colorado (NCAA D-I)
Alex Laughlin – P – Washburn University (NCAA D-II)
Colby McPike – C – Nebraska Wesleyan University (NAIA)
Cody Rutledge – OF – St. Cloud University (NCAA D-II, No. 9)
Brett Smith – OF – Missouri Western State University (NCAA D-II, No. 5)
Michael Yeager – C – Missouri Western State University (NCAA D-II, No. 5)
Joe Young – OF – College of the Ozarks (NAIA)


For schedules, rosters, and other team information, go to