“Lockhart conducted a spacious, stirring performance … displayed a luminous sound, with a power and precision that often was breathtaking…”
- The Greenville News

Ticket Prices

$52, $42

About this performance

8 p.m. Yardley Hall

Keith Lockhart, principal conductor
Sophie Shao, cello soloist

Maestro Keith Lockhart’s formidable experience in broad repertoire, allied with his love of all things British make him perfectly positioned to lead the BBC Concert Orchestra.

He took up the baton to become their seventh principal conductor in August 2010, and joins the team while continuing his successful work with the Boston Pops, where he has been conductor since 1995.

The orchestra’s flexibility and exceptional talent allows them to leap between genres … from scores for television to Sondheim tributes, contemporary classics to a live concert with the Pet Shop Boys.

  • Britten – "Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes," Op. 33a
  • Elgar – "Cello Concerto in E minor," Op. 85
               "Sophie Shao, cello"
  • Intermission
  • Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56 (“Scottish”)

Program subject to change without notice

Keith Lockhart will conduct a post-concert talk immediate following the performance.

Buy your 2012-2013 season package online or through the box office today.

Single tickets are also on sale now.

  • Friends Hospitality