Skip to main content

Campus Ledger earns top awards at state journalism conference

April 16, 2015 | By Diane Carroll

The Campus Ledger, the official student newspaper of Johnson County Community College, has once again earned the All-Kansas Award from the Kansas Collegiate Media.

In addition to being named the best two-year student newspaper in the state, Ledger Editor-in-Chief Mike Abell of Overland Park was named Journalist of the Year in the two-year newspaper division. Abell is the first Ledger employee to receive the honor in several years.

The contest recognizes the best in collegiate journalism at the two-year, four-year public and four-year private college levels. All entries submitted to the contest were published during the spring and fall 2014 semesters. The awards were announced during an April 12-13 media conference in Wichita.

Both the Ledger and JCAV-TV received multiple awards throughout the contest’s individual categories.

The Campus Ledger

First Place

  • Editorial Writing: The editorial board
  • Feature Writing: Mike Abell
  • Front Page Design: Isaiah Cardona, Lawrence
  • Illustration: Mike Abell and Julia Larberg, Overland Park
  • Page Design: Andrea Thomas, Olathe
  • Review Writing: Christina Lieffring, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Special Section: James Howey, Lansing, Courtney Holliday, Kansas City, Kan., and Jessica Skaggs, Overland Park

Second Place

  • Feature Writing: Valerie Velikaya, Lenexa
  • Feature Photography: Gabe Alejos, Merriam
  • Headline Writing: Christina Lieffring
  • Illustration: Alishka Jolitz, Lawrence
  • News Photography: Julia Larberg
  • Sports News Writing: James Howey

Third Place

  • Illustration: Liliana Lozano, Overland Park
  • Infographics: Mike Abell and Andrea Thomas
  • Page Design: Andrea Thomas
  • Sports Feature Writing: James Howey

Honorable Mention

  • Column Writing: Valerie Velikaya, Lenexa
  • Copy Editing: J.T. Buchheit, Olathe
  • Editorial Writing: The editorial board
  • Headline Writing: Courtney Holliday
  • Illustration: Alishka Jolitz
  • News Writing: Valerie Velikaya
  • Sports News Writing: Jessica Skaggs


First Place
Video: Ashlynn Turner, Overland Park, Efrem Duran, Overland Park and Dylan Genis, Olathe

Second Place
Video: Kirstin Roe, Overland Park, Skylar Saxon, Olathe and Michael Portnoy, Overland Park

Third Place
Video: Anna Freije, Overland Park, Tim Dressler, Overland Park, Cole Davis, Overland Park and Donna Karlen, Lawrence

The spring 2014 Campus Ledger editor-in-chief was Stephen Cook of Leawood. The fall 2014 and current Campus Ledger editor-in-chief is Mike Abell. The Campus Ledger faculty adviser is Corbin Crable. The fall 2014 JCAV executive producer was Andrew Tady. The JCAV faculty advisers are Joe Petrie, Molly Baumgardner and Adam Stephenson.