Johnson Countian of the Year

Some Enchanted EveningSM is an annual fund-raising event sponsored by the Johnson County Community College Foundation for the purposes of celebrating Johnson County Community College, creating greater awareness of the Foundation and raising endowment funds for scholarships. It has become one of the major social events and one of the most successful fund-raising events in Johnson County.

During the original planning process of the Some Enchanted Evening event, Foundation leaders believed Johnson County had matured to the stage where it should honor its community leaders. Furthermore, they felt that the Foundation could appropriately do this, emphasizing JCCC's role as a major community institution.

The Johnson Countian of the Year award was created and the Rev. Robert Meneilly, founding pastor of the largest Presbyterian congregation in America and a champion of education, was selected as the first honoree. He proved to be a very popular choice and the award became a significant part of the event.

The intent of the award is to recognize someone who has made significant contributions to the Johnson County community. Nominations are accepted in the JCCC Foundation Office for review by a selection committee. The award recipient selection is publicly announced in the spring and presented in November at the Some Enchanted Evening event.

Completed nomination forms (PDF) should be mailed to: JCCC Foundation, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, KS 66210 or emailed to the Foundation, where they will be held in confidential file until such time as a candidate has been selected for the award. Nominations made in previous years will be automatically reconsidered though updates, letters of recommendation or additional information is welcome.


  • 2014 - Dr. Gary Morsch
  • 2013 - Lynn Mitchelson
  • 2012 - Audrey Langworthy
  • 2010 - David Wysong
  • 2009 - Peggy and Terry Dunn
  • 2008 - Fred Logan
  • 2007 - Dick and Barbara Shull
  • 2006 - Norman and Elaine Polsky
  • 2005 - Ed Eilert
  • 2004 - Bob Regnier
  • 2003 - Walt Hiersteiner
  • 2002 - Mary Birch
  • 2001 - Drue Jennings
  • 2000 - Betty Keim
  • 1999 - Steve Rose
  • 1998 - Dr. Charles J. Carlsen
  • 1997 - George and Floriene Lieberman
  • 1996 - Senator Dick Bond
  • 1995 - William Dunn, Sr.
  • 1994 - Adele Hall
  • 1993 - SuEllen Fried
  • 1992 - James P. Sunderland
  • 1991 - Stan and Shirley Rose
  • 1990 - John H. (Jack) Robinson
  • 1989 - Paul H. Henson
  • 1988 - Ben Craig
  • 1987 - Dr. Robert H. Meneilly