Commercial Driver's License - Class A (CDL)
Prepare yourself for a challenging and rewarding career in the trucking industry.
JCCC's five-week, 160-hour truck driver training program, offered in collaboration with Metropolitan Community College, prepares you for entry-level driving positions within the trucking industry.
Our program goes beyond preparing you for the Kansas or Missouri Commercial Driver License Class A performance exam. It readies you for a challenging and rewarding career in the trucking industry.
In addition to 100 hours of classroom training, students receive 60 hours of one-on-one (one truck to one student) hands-on training to ensure comprehension and skill development of the operating procedures required by the state.
Our CDL-A certificate meets all state and federal requirements for truck driver training.
Employment in transportation and material moving occupations is projected to grow by 1.1 million between 2004 and 2014, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. This is a high-demand growth industry.
Commercial trucking offers vast flexibility, great pay, wonderful benefits, exciting work conditions and unlimited employment opportunities.
With a commercial driver's license (CDL), your skills will always be in high demand!
A Lifestyle Choice
Some companies haul freight locally and regionally. These are short-haulers, meaning there are times you may be away from home overnight.
However, most trucking companies are long distance haulers that move freight across the country. You may be on the road for two weeks or even a month or more at a time.
In either case, your entire work shift is spent behind the wheel. For those who are a good fit for this type of career, it can pay well.
Some companies use two-driver teams on very long runs -- one drives while the other sleeps. "Sleeper" runs may last for days or even weeks, usually with the truck stopping only for fuel, food, loading and unloading. Some husband-and-wife teams have been very successful with this arrangement.
Prior to the class start date, you must:
- Attend an information/orientation session offered bi-monthly.
- Be at least 21 years old for interstate driving.
- Be at least 18 years of age for intrastate driving.
- Have a valid driver’s license from your state of residence.
- Have a valid Commercial Learner’s Class-A Permit (including general knowledge, air brake and combination vehicle endorsement) from your state of residence.
- Must be a high school graduate or have a GED.
- Sign the drug test release form and pass a drug screen within 30 days prior to the start of class.
- Pass a current Department of Transportation (DOT) physical.
- Sign a disclosure and release form to obtain a current motor vehicle record from your state of residence.
- Complete a criminal background check.
Program Fee: $3,895
This program is approved by the Workforce Investment Act (WIA).
For more information or to apply for admission, contact Phil Wegman at 913-469-4446.