The National Alliance of Two Year College Athletic Administrators (NATYCAA) sponsors the NATYCAA Cup which is awarded each year in recognition of overall performance at two-year colleges.  The NATYCAA Cup program began in 2004 to highlight excellence in two-year athletics based on success in championship competition. The awards are given to the NJCAA member colleges based on performance at national championship events throughout the academic year.  A first place finish warrants 20 points, second place 19 points, etc.

In 2007-08, Johnson County Community College won the Scholarship Division, accumulating 142 points for their first every NATYCAA Cup trophy.  The Cavaliers did not win a national title in any sport in 2007-08, but did finish second in Division II volleyball, third in Division I men’s indoor track and field, fifth in Division II women’s basketball, fifth in Division II softball, fifth in Division I men’s tennis, seventh in Division I men’s outdoor track and field, and seventh in women’s Division I cross country.  Additionally, the baseball team qualified for its first NJCAA JUCO World Series, and tied for ninth overall.

JCCC has finished in the top 10 in 10 of the 12 years the cup has been awarded, and has five top five finishes, including the cup champion in 2007-08
Iowa Central Community College chas captured the most cups, winning seven straight from 2008-09 through 2014-15.  Monre Community College won consecutive cups in 2005-016 and 2006-07.

2014-15 Scholarship Division

Rk. College City, State Men’s
1 Iowa Central Community College East Peoria, Ill. 90.5 79 169.5
2 Iowa Western Community College Council Bluffs, Iowa 84 76.6 160.5
3 Tyler Junior College Tyler, Texas 87 54.5 141.5
4 South Plains College Levelland, Texas 77 52 129
5 Central Arizona College Coolidge, Ariz. 57 60.6 117.5
6 Monroe College New Rochelle, N.Y. 61.25 39.5 100.75
7 Darton State College Albany, Ga. 55 45.5 100.5
8 Coffeyville Community College Coffeyville, Kan. 55.5 40.5 96
9 Monroe Community College Rochester, N.Y. 34 56 90
10 Piima Community College Tucson, Ariz. 36.5 52.5 89
37 Johnson County Community College Overland Park, Kan. 0 41.5 41.5

Past Winners of the NATYCAA Cup

Year College JCCC Finish
2003-04 College of DuPage (Ill.) 6th
2004-05 Mesa Community College (Ariz.) 2nd
2005-06 Monroe Community College (N.Y.) 3rd
2006-07 Monroe Community College (N.Y.) 3rd
2007-08 Johnson County Community College (Kan.) 1st
2008-09 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 9th
2009-10 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 8th
2010-11 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 10th
2011-12 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 3rd
2012-13 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 7th
2013-14 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 13th
2014-15 Iowa Central Community College (Iowa) 37th